Australasian Association for Institutional Research Inc.

2018 Annual General Meeting



Minutes of the 2018 Annual General Meeting of the Australasian Association for Institutional Research (AAIR) held at Rydges Melbourne, 186 Exhibition Street, Melbourne, Australia on 21 November 2018 at 1.15pm.

1. Attendance

1.1. Present:

Members present

Members pre Name	Surname	Institution
Lisa	Bolton	The Social Research Centre
Andrew	Bradshaw	Macquarie University
David	Cawthorne	Charles Darwin University
Leyna	Clarke	Australian Council for Educational Research
Tracy	Creagh	Queensland University of Technology
John	Ding	Deakin University
Elvira	Fonacier	University of Technology Sydney
Zhibo	Guo	UWA
Dennis	Ham	Curtin University
Ann	Hogan	Victoria University
Yuli	Hou	Australian Catholic University
Denise	Jackson	Edith Cowan University
Greg	Jakob	Federation University Australia
Andrea	Jeffreys	La Trobe University
Don	Johnston	Southern Cross University
Lizzie	Li	The University of Auckland
Michael	Luckman	Centre for Higher Education Equity and Diversity Research
Wilchael		(La Trobe University)
Wendy	Marchment	WM Consulting
Kerry	Martin	University of the Sunshine Coast
Darren	Matthews	Australian Council for Educational Research (ACER)
Peter	May	University of New England
Veronica	McDowell	N/A
Warren	Mead	Victoria University
Alberto	Mendez	University of Technology Sydney
Michelle	Muchatuta	Macquarie University
David	Noden	La Trobe University
Liesha	Northover	AAIR
Leone	Nurbasari	Australian National University
Rintaro	Ohno	Tohoku University
Luke	Parker	University of Southern Queensland
Kathie	Rabel	Victoria University of Wellington
Danielle	Rankin	Kaplan Australia

Name	Surname	Institution
Eva	Seidel	Flinders University
Bret	Stanbancan	Centre for Higher Education Equity and Diversity Research
biet	Stephenson	(La Trobe University)
Matthew	Symonds	University of Technology Sydney
Penny	Szybiak	Charles Darwin University
Stuart	Terry	Otago Polytechnic
Dean	Ward	Edith Cowan University

Non-members present

Name	Surname	Institution
Naomi	Doncaster	Southern Cross University
Lifen	Sudirjo	RMIT University

1.2. Apologies and Proxies:

Apologies were received from Dave Marr who nominated Kathie Rebel as proxy.

2. Confirmation of the Minutes of the 2017 Annual General Meeting

The Minutes of the 2017 AGM held at the Alice Springs Convention Centre, 93 Barret Drive, Alice Springs, Australia from 11.45 am – 12.25 pm on Thursday 2 November, were accepted as a true and accurate record of proceedings.

Moved: Dean Ward Seconded: Bruce Guthrie

3. Election of Committee Members

The President, Kathie Rabel informed the meeting that there was one nomination each for the position of Vice-President and Treasurer and six nominations for committee members equalling the vacancies, and as such an election was not required. There were no nominations for the position of President or Secretary. The AAIR committee from November 2018 until November 2020 will comprise:

- Kathie Rabel (Immediate Past President)
- Stuart Terry (Vice-President)
- Greg Jakob (Treasurer)
- Vacant (Secretary)
- Lisa Bolton (Ordinary Member)
- Andrew Bradshaw (Ordinary Member)
- David Carroll (Ordinary Member)
- Don Johnston (Ordinary Member)
- Leone Nurbasari (Ordinary Member)
- Penny Szybiak (Ordinary Member)

The President informed the meeting that she has volunteered to continue to act as President until the position is filled. Anyone interested in the role of President, Secretary or Newsletter Editor, which will be vacant from the end of the year, should contact Kathie Rabel.

The President thanked the following for their contribution to AAIR:

- Dave Marr outgoing Immediate Past President
- David De Bellis outgoing Treasurer
- Andrea Jeffreys outgoing Secretary
- Kerry Martin outgoing Committee Member
- Louise Hargreaves outgoing Committee Member
- Tracy Creagh and Monica Chen outgoing Newsletter Editors

4. President's Report

Kathie presented the President's Report for 2018. The main points included:

- The President thanked the following outgoing committee members for their contribution to AAIR:
 - Dave Marr outgoing Immediate Past President
 - David De Bellis outgoing Treasurer
 - Andrea Jeffreys outgoing Secretary
 - o Kerry Martin outgoing Committee Member
 - Louise Hargreaves outgoing Committee Member
- The President acknowledged the excellent support provided by the Executive Officer Liesha Northover and thanked her for her contribution throughout the year.
- The President thanked the outgoing newsletter editors Tracy Creagh and Monica Chen.
- AAIR SIG Forum The 2017 SIG Forum held in Sydney was Chaired by Andrew Bradshaw, Macquarie University.
- Annual Forum The 2107 Annual Forum held in Alice Springs was Chaired by Penny Szybiak, Charles Darwin University.
- Membership as at 30 June 2018 AAIR had 185 members.
- Portfolios- Portfolios have been formalised to manage key functions and each committee
 member has responsibility for one of these. A reporting schedule has been established to
 ensure regular monitoring against strategic plan key performance indicators.

5. Treasurer's Report and Financial Statement

Greg Jackob presented the Treasurer's Report on behalf of David De Bellis.

- AAIR has net assets of \$93.3K as at June 2017.
- The loss of \$34.7K is due to strategic investment in the new website.
- The relationship between AAIR and ANUP remains strong and AAIR has provided Executive Officer support to ANUP this year.
- AAIR's Auditors have completed an audit report for the year ended 30 June 2018, and essentially finds AAIR to be a sound ongoing concern.
- The Treasurer's report endorsed the Auditor's recommendation an annual self-assessment of the Association's not-for-profit income tax exempt status.
- Greg Jakob thanked David De Bellis for leaving AAIR in a strong financial position.

The President's Report and the Treasurer's and Auditor's Reports were accepted by the meeting.

Moved: Stuart Terry Seconded: Penny Szybiak

6. General Business

The President invited any other items of business:

- Wendy Marchment thanked the Executive Committee for providing financial support for the last centuries dinner held on Sunday night. The dinner was well attended by members who have held a long association with AAIR, including four original members from 1988.
- Leone Nurbasari enquired about professional development opportunities for members, including, for example, webinars. Penny Szybiak advised the meeting that she has responsibility for the professional development portfolio and one of the things she plans to do includes surveying members following the Annual Forum to ascertain which sessions from the Forum they would be interested in participating in via a webinar.

7. Next Meeting

The next AGM is planned for the 2019 AAIR Forum location to be determined.

The meeting concluded at 1.50 pm.

Andrea Jeffreys
Hon Secretary

Kathie Rabel
President